TV

Problems/advice relating to your PC/Mac/Phone/Television/ Satellite TV/DVD/Blu ray......

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Nigel and Karen
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon 20 Mar 2006 22:04
Contact:

TV

Post by Nigel and Karen » Sat 05 Jan 2013 18:04

anyone tried one of these?

http://uktveverywhere.com/index.html

User avatar
Sue
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue 02 Dec 2008 15:08
Contact:

Post by Sue » Sat 05 Jan 2013 19:36

http://www.filmon.com/#BBC-One





For the amount of channels it gives you, you may just as well download the above free!
Dylan

Allan
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue 01 Sep 2009 21:21
Contact:

Post by Allan » Sun 06 Jan 2013 00:45

Neatly packaged but expensive for what it provides.

There are many devices on the market like Roku, Boxee and Google Tv that can do similar things with Filmon or other services - they typically cost around £70-£80 with no subscription

A proxy or VPN service costing around €4 euros a month would allow greater access.

Having said that it looks a simple solution for the less technically competent - I guess it all depends how well it works and whether or not you have the 4mb connection speed they say you need.

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Sun 06 Jan 2013 15:10

The problem for most living outsude the towns is the lack of internet speed... we are only on 2 mb and i dont know when we are likely to get any more here in the villages !!

Smiley G
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue 02 Oct 2012 23:58
Contact:

Post by Smiley G » Sun 06 Jan 2013 16:34

Where we live, we are far enough away from the exchange to only get (tested today) 1.5 Mbps.
The only answer, as I see it, is for Montgolfiere to supply a new, optimum sized dish and matching LNB and possible a new set-top box. Once the further changes take place later this year, we shall have to see what happens.
If, as some people fear, we lose BBC and possibly other "fringe" channels, then English-speaking French residents may wish to get together to protest BBC & ITV in order to allow "iPlayers" to work from a French IP address.
I have read some horror stories about some VPNs totally screwing up computers, once downloaded. It's a little like having both McAfee and Norton on the same machine, everything is slowed right down.
Just as a footnote, anyone using a Mac (OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2) wouldn't be able to install a programme which is not approved by Apple.
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Sun 06 Jan 2013 19:02

I have never heard any problems with www.iportal.me!!!!
at 5€ a month probably worth it...

I am also fairly hopeful that the next 'changes' will have a similar Signal as the Satellites are the same 'spec.'

Allan
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue 01 Sep 2009 21:21
Contact:

Post by Allan » Sun 06 Jan 2013 19:34

Smiley G wrote:Where we live, we are far enough away from the exchange to only get (tested today) 1.5 Mbps.
The only answer, as I see it, is for Montgolfiere to supply a new, optimum sized dish and matching LNB and possible a new set-top box. Once the further changes take place later this year, we shall have to see what happens.
If, as some people fear, we lose BBC and possibly other "fringe" channels, then English-speaking French residents may wish to get together to protest BBC & ITV in order to allow "iPlayers" to work from a French IP address.
I have read some horror stories about some VPNs totally screwing up computers, once downloaded. It's a little like having both McAfee and Norton on the same machine, everything is slowed right down.
Just as a footnote, anyone using a Mac (OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2) wouldn't be able to install a programme which is not approved by Apple.
I think someone has been telling you fairy stories, VPN is a well established and safe technology and nothing at all like having McAfee and Norton on the same machine. If it really bothers you there are plenty of ways to connect to the UK that don't involve putting software on your computer.

Realistically TV via the Internet will never be as good as a satellite system but the 2 are not mutually exclusive.

I can think of no reason why a weaker satellite signal should entail a new set top box.

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Sun 06 Jan 2013 19:43

there shouldn't be any need to change a Digibox.

User avatar
Santiago
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue 27 Dec 2005 12:19
Contact:

Post by Santiago » Mon 07 Jan 2013 08:49

My reception via iPortal is better than my satellite.

The VPN does inhibit email under some settings and I did find that the DNS solution was a bit of a faff to uninstall but it's not dangerous.

It would be interesting if the BBC introduced a pay service overseas. I wonder if it is in their plans. I can't see why, in the future, we would not have a choice of internet-based suppliers of TV channels collated from all sorts of sources. It would not likely to be free of course.
Domaine Treloar - Vineyard and Winery - www.domainetreloar.com - 04 68 95 02 29

Owens88
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri 13 Jan 2006 01:49
Contact:

Post by Owens88 » Mon 07 Jan 2013 22:45

Santiago, you mean like a TV version of scoop.it? Excellent idea
Just need to work on the charging mechanism.
John
www.Goodviews.co.uk

Vernet Les Bains and East Midlands

User avatar
russell
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1011
Joined: Fri 21 May 2010 16:03
Contact:

Post by russell » Tue 08 Jan 2013 12:44

Santiago wrote: It would be interesting if the BBC introduced a pay service overseas. I wonder if it is in their plans. I can't see why, in the future, we would not have a choice of internet-based suppliers of TV channels collated from all sorts of sources. It would not likely to be free of course.
They are restricted by copyright considerations. For the same reason Sky does not (officially) allow reception outside the UK.

Russell

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Tue 08 Jan 2013 12:47

it is this copyright issue that has led them to try an reduce the satellite footprint and has led to the reduced signal from Astra2F

User avatar
russell
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1011
Joined: Fri 21 May 2010 16:03
Contact:

Post by russell » Tue 08 Jan 2013 12:48

Smiley G wrote: Just as a footnote, anyone using a Mac (OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2) wouldn't be able to install a programme which is not approved by Apple.
This is not true. You can even run most Windows programs directly under Wine. If you install Virtualbox you can even install any Windows (or Linux) operating system on a virtual computer emulated by the Mac OS.

Russell.

Post Reply