UK ‘Not Allowed’ to Leave the EU

General chat about doing business in France and the PO; tax, financial, legal and insurance matters.

Moderator: Moderators

GrahamC
Rank 4
Rank 4

UK ‘Not Allowed’ to Leave the EU

Post by GrahamC »

So, to all those who argued with me so vehemently before Brexit that the EU was nothing more than a ‘gentleman’s club’. As I recall, one poster referred to a benign EU ‘club’ which just muddles on.

So, how, do you now explain Macron’s latest decree that the UK will not be ‘allowed’ to leave the EU unless we cede our territorial fishing rights?

Like pretty much everyone on this site, I am an ardent pro European and Francophile. But is it not now plain for all to see what Brussels has become?

This is, in no sense, a European Union. It’s a European Empire in the making. Bad for us, bad for France, bad for Europe.

Perhaps this goes some way to explain all the FREXIT graphiti I’m seeing around the PO.

And to anticipate the responses: no we don’t deserve to be punished for exercising our treaty rights.
Last edited by GrahamC on Fri 30 Nov 2018 17:08, edited 1 time in total.
martyn94
Rank 5
Rank 5

Re: UK ‘Not Allowed’ to Leave the EU

Post by martyn94 »

Can you point to any reliable source of news that says anything even remotely like this? As things stand, we are headed out of the EU, pretty soon, whether we or M Macron like it or not. Assuming it doesn’t all go tits up in the HoC next week (and even that of course doesn’t stop us leaving the EU: it just makes the shambles even worse)

When an avowed Europhile starts talking about a “European Empire”, I start to doubt their sanity, or at least their grasp of English.