Insuring my British car to stay in France - RE-REGISTER?

General chat about doing business in France and the PO; tax, financial, legal and insurance matters.

Moderator: Moderators

Teresa
Rank 0
Rank 0

Insuring my British car to stay in France - RE-REGISTER?

Post by Teresa »

Hi everyone,

I'd like your advice, from your experiences of insuring a British car to leave in France. WHY?? I'll explain.

We've had our house for 8 years, near Perpignan, staying there for school holidays as I WAS a teacher. We decided August '16, that 'Our year in France' would begin Jan '17 :D I would resign my post, we would commute back and forth each month (Jon needs to be in UK for 1-2 weeks a month at mo) then we could have half the month living at our house in France. That way we would be closer to experiencing ALL that the way of life had to offer. I am hoping to find work teaching English, as well as Estate Agency (which through here I found an advertisement with Beaux Villages and have begun talking to the local coordinator - Who also was a teacher!)
We drove my car here - and left it at the airport when we flew back. I had begun discussions with Agence Generali - who said they would insure my car IF I began registration within 3 months. It seems TRES EXPENSIF!! at nearly 900E. We will fly back and forth, leaving the car in France!
Any advice, recommendations would be greatly welcome. JUST had quote from AXA expats special!!!!!! 1235E !!!
Teresa Howe /Penn
Florence
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by Florence »

My husband's Merc is with Generali, just over €600 pa, fully comp. I wonder if your car is a right-hand drive, that might make a difference, or the fact that it spends a lot of time in car parks.
Teresa
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by Teresa »

Thanks Florence,

Yes it is a right hand drive, because I bought it in Britain with the idea of taking it to France, it's a lovely convertible! And yes, it will spend a lot of it's time alone in car parks waiting for us. :(
Teresa Howe /Penn
martyn94