British photo card driving licence

Flights; transfers; trains; ferries; routes; getting to and from the PO; lifts offered or wanted; motoring and biking matters.

Moderator: Moderators

Sue
Rank 5
Rank 5

British photo card driving licence

Post by Sue »

Not sure what heading to put this query under. The photo on my British driving licence card needs renewing in February of next year. I see that this can be done on line providing you hold a British Passport (less than 5 years old). I have the relevant passport but I am not a British resident which the DVLA website states you must be to apply. You have to supply address/es for last 3 years They also state that they will liaise with DWP. As my pension is paid here, I am a tax resident here and my passport was issued by the British Embassy here, how do I get my photo renewed. I dont really want to go down the road of a French licence.
Dylan
opas
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by opas »

http://www.anglophone-direct.com/New-Fr ... g-licences

I am not sure how often a UK card licence has to be updated, but this could be the answer. I am not sure why you are reluctant to change to a french one, it is easy , free and quick.
-----------------------------------------------
Debeneur.
property management, changeovers, garden maintenance, no job too small. Highchair, travelcot, pram hire.
Sue
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Sue »

You have to update your UK photo (not licence) every 10 years and mine is due for renewal in Feb 2013. When I spoke to someone at the Mairie they told me it would take 2 or 3 months to issue me with a French licence. They would give me a piece of paper for driving here in the interim but not for UK. With ill health of family members this could prove a problem if we needed to get back in a hurry and not being in a position to get a hire car that end.
Dylan
Allan
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Allan »

opas wrote:http://www.anglophone-direct.com/New-Fr ... g-licences